The Legislative Branch is a form of state government, and each state has its own. 

This branch can also be called Congress and is split into two parts: The House of Representatives and the Senate. 

Both of these parties meet in the Capitol Building (left) in Washington D.C.

What does the legislative branch do?
  • Makes laws/passes bills
  • Collect the people's taxes
  • Establish post offices
  • Coin and print money
  • Make rules for trading with other states and countries
  • Build armies & provide for the navy

House of Representatives:
  • 435 members
  • Each state has at least one member, but states with bigger populations have more members (Ex.: California had 53 members because it has more people living in it than Hawaii, which has 2 representatives)

  • 100 members
  • Each state has 2 members, called Senators

How did the Constitution create this branch of government?
Click on the picture below to find out!
Now can you guess which article of the Constitution created the next branch of government?

You'll find out on the next page!
Now you know about state government! 
Click on the button below to get to the next page, which covers the Executive Branch, the branch governing the whole country!